Wewelsburg Castle was built between 1603 to 1609 in the style of the Weser- Renaissance; it served as a second residence for the Prince Bishops of Paderborn. This triangular castle rises high above the valley of the River Alme and sits majestically on a mountain ridge in the village of Wewelsburg, a suburb of the town of Büren in the County of Paderborn.
The County museum comprises two parts:
The Historic Museum of the Hochstift Paderborn is located in the south and the east wing of the Wewelsburg.
The history of the Prince Bishopric (Hochstift) is reflected in 29 rooms from the beginning of the first settlements right through to the secularisation in 1802. The museum extends over 4 levels. Despite of the castle’s complicated design, with the exception of two, all rooms are accessible with a wheelchair.
The new ‘Memory and Memorial Site Wewelsburg 1933-1945’ was officially opened on 15 April 2010. It is accommodated in the former SS Guard Room at the forecourt of the castle. The permanent exhibition ‘Ideology and Terror of the SS’ reflects on the local history of the SS Protection Squad in Wewelsburg and the local concentration camp, which are part of a comprehensive overview of the SS.
Subject to prior arrangement, the museum’s education officer will provide individual guided tours to visiting groups (clubs, ecclesiastic groups, school children, workshops in the learning centre).
Individual visitors are kindly invited to explore the exhibition, the ‘crypt’ and the SS assembly hall (Obergruppenführersaal) in the North Tower. Public guided tours take place every fortnight providing more in-depth information. Events programme (Veranstaltungskalender) at www.wewelsburg.de
The museum shop sells interesting souvenirs and publications including the County Museum Wewelsburg publications. The Hochstift Museum Shop sells ‘the Wewelsburger Kräuterwohl’ ( a book of herbal remedies) and the Apothecary’s Herbal Tea Mixtures with healing plants, which grow also in the plant beds of the castle garden. Children are very interested in the wooden swords, shields and knights’ helmets and the do-it-yourself model of the Wewelsburg.
The shop in the Memory and Memorial Site sells contemporary and historic literature related to the permanent exhibition as well as movies and documentaries, cards, T-shirts and other accessories.
Café and Restaurant Wewelsburg
The new museum café and restaurant is part of the exhibition building. The landlords, Mr and Mrs Langen, will be pleased to spoil you with their variety of delicious meals made of local organic produce, home-baked cakes and gateaux and many seasonal specialities are on the menu. The patio affords a wonderful view of the picturesque Castle.